WA to open border to Queensland, Victoria from next week, but NSW shut-out

Western Australia is set to open its border to Queensland and Victoria, deeming the states “very low risk”, but it has continued its hard line stance against New South Wales.

Premier Mark McGowan today announced residents from Qld will be able to travel to WA without the need to quarantine for 14 days from 12.01am Monday, while Victorians can enter from 12.01am Friday February 5.

Pending no further outbreaks, travellers will need to fill out a border declaration and undergo a health screening upon arrival into the state.

But New South Wales has not been included, with the state remaining in a “low risk” category, meaning residents must quarantine for 14 days and undergo COVID-19 testing if they wish to enter WA.

RELATED: Why Australian COVID-19 vaccine rollout shouldn’t be paused

“NSW has gone about two weeks without recording a community case and obviously we want to see them reach 28 days before we can consider moving them to the next risk category,” Mr McGowan said at a press conference.

Those from ACT, Northern Territory, South Australia and Tasmania are already able to enter WA restriction-free.

RELATED: The COVID maps Donald Trump wouldn’t release

It comes as Western Australia recorded zero locally acquired cases of coronavirus today, with two in hotel quarantine.

NSW recorded no new locally acquired cases of COVID-19 in the 24 hours up to 8pm on Friday, marking the thirteenth day of zero community transmission in the state.

Queensland and Victoria announced Friday they would relax their border to NSW, with Victoria welcoming all residents from Greater Sydney except those from the Cumberland LGA to enter restriction-free.

Those travelling from the Cumberland area must get tested and quarantine for 72 hours.

Source link

Leave A Reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here